Poetry and Imagery – Fresh Rain

In my creative essay class we were told to write poems that were descriptive. Below is what I came up with. I asked my teacher to choose a title for it, and she liked “Fresh Rain.”

The hot sun is beating down,

But I don’t feel a thing.

I look down at my hand,

and admire my diamond ring.

The light shown on it perfectly;

Like a prism, the colors caught my eye.

I remember how I used to feel:

Invisible – the loser. Memories made me cry.

 

That was my private secret

that I would never tell.

But now this beautiful ring is mine,

and he is mine as well.

I remember when we first met…

We fell for each other right away.

He was my opposite, popular and cool;

I started making new friends every day.

 

I am right with him now,

but he didn’t see me there.

I call out his name,

but he didn’t hear…

I remember my long white gown,

flowing elegantly like a wave.

Now I see my husband

staring at a grave.

This burning sensation swept through me.

Everything tingled, every part ached.

The rush was overwhelming…

From my lips, a wild scream escaped.

He didn’t even flinch.

No echoing sound of my pain.

The tear welled up and dripped,

just as if they were fresh rain.

 

I read the headstone:

“Here lies… loving wife. 1989 – 2010”

Back to the way I was before…

Invisible again.

About A Poetic Paradox

Well I'm me and to write "all about me" in this tiny little box is pretty close to impossible. I'm bold, love bright colors, and I can be a seriously good friend. I love to write, it's basically my passion! :D Oh, and I know it may not seem like much, but I want to teach young children. I ADORE little kids. I never really made a blog before, and I even have trouble keeping up with my own journal, but I hope this works out well. (:
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

